2019 School Board Election

  • Campaign Finance Reports

    Click here to view campaign finance reports related to the 2019 School Board election. 

    Four Elected to School Board

    Four candidates were elected to the School Board of St. Louis Park Public Schools on Tuesday, November 5, 2019. Ken Morrison was reelected, while C. Colin Cox, Laura McClendon and Heather Wilsey were elected for the first time.

    Morrison, Cox, McClendon and Wilsey will all serve four-year terms that will run from January of 2020 through December of 2023.

    Current Board Members Jim Beneke, Nancy Gores and Joe Tatalovich will all leave the Board at the end of 2019. Gores and Tatalovich did not run for reelection.

    The results of the election were as follows: 

    *Heather Wilsey       3,506
    *Laura McClendon   3,212
    *C. Colin Cox             2,756
    *Ken Morrison          2,395
    Jim Beneke               2,228
    Kari Ross                  1,759
    Jim Leuthner            1,744
    Jessica Janoski         1,428

    *Elected to four-year term

    Complete results including precinct-by-precinct returns are available on the Minnesota Secretary of State website at electionresults.sos.state.mn.us.

    Eight Candidates File School Board Seats

    Eight candidates have filed to run for four at-large seats on the St. Louis Park Public Schools School Board. Incumbents Ken Morrison and Jim Beneke are running for re-election, while newcomers C. Colin Cox, Jim Leuthner, Laura McClendon, Jessica Janoski, Kari Ross, and Heather Wilsey are also running.

    Current Board Members Nancy Gores and Joe Tatalovich will see their terms expire in December 2019 and are not running for re-election.

    The four open seats each carry a four-year term that will run from January 2020 through December 2023. Election Day is Tuesday, November 5.

    This information is accurate as of Friday, August 16.