School Board Spotlight Archive

  • December 9, 2019

    Outgoing Board Members On Monday, December 9, the Board recognized three outgoing Board Members including Jim Beneke, Nancy Gores and Joe Tatalovich. The three outgoing members served a combined total of 28 years on the School Board. 





     November 25, 2019











    November 12, 2019 

    SB Spotlight Nov 19 On November 12, 2019, the School Board recognized the District's Racial Equity Instructional Coaches who received the 2019 Learning & Teaching Award at the 11th annual National Summit for Courageous Conversation About Race on October 12-16, 2019, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

    The award is presented to classroom teachers who demonstrate innovative, culturally relevant instruction that engages all students, and especially promotes the highest achievement of underserved students of color populations.

    The National Summit for Courageous Conversation is the Pacific Educational Group venue for bringing together the most promising and effective racial equity leadership voices, practices, and results from across the United States and around the world for examination and broader dissemination.

    The racial equity instructional coach team at St. Louis Park Public Schools includes Omar Adams (Middle School), Emily Crook (Susan Lindgren), Peter Gerdts (Middle School), Matt Horel (High School), Devrae Hudson (Aquila), Cam Muata (Peter Hobart), Bekah Noble (Middle School), Sarah Reichert (Early Learning Programs), Maria Reyes (Park Spanish Immersion), and Lee-Ann Stephens (High School). The racial equity instructional coaches are supervised by Principal on Special Assignment Freida Bailey.

    October 28, 2019


    On October 28, 2019, the School Board recognized several High School students who have been recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program as either a semifinalist or a commended scholar for 2020.

    Pictured from left to right are School Board Chair Nancy Gores, student Marta Hill, student Jonathan Potter, High School Principal Scott Meyers, student Mitchell VonEschen, student Eitan Weinstein, and Superintendent Astein Osei.

    Students who have been recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program this fall, but were unable to attend the School Board Meeting include Patrick Djerf, Mari Hanchi, and Ella Thomas.