Return to Headlines

Echo Recognized by State and National Journalism Associations

Echo, the student-run newspaper at St. Louis Park High School has once again been recognized by several state and national journalism associations for excellence in several areas.

For the seventh straight year, the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) has named Echo one of 49 National Pacemaker Newspaper Finalists. This year, Echo is the only student newspaper from the state of Minnesota that has been named a finalist. The Pacemaker is the highest award the NSPA gives out. Winners of the Pacemaker Award will be announced at the National High School Journalism Convention in Washington D.C., on Nov. 21-24.

Several Echo staff members and former staff members are finalists for individual awards as well. Those individuals include Emily Ziessman in the News Page 1 Design category; Maggie Klaers and Isabel Kjaer in the comic strip panel category; Grace Farley, Sophie Livingston, Abby Prestholdt, Carrisa Prestholdt and Ruby Stillman in the Photo Slideshow category; the editorial staff in the Staff Editorial category.

In addition to these awards that are given out by the NSPA, Maggie Klaers also won an Honorable Mention from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association in the Art Illustration/Portfolio category.

State Awards

The Echo and its staff members also received a number of awards from the Minnesota High School Press Association, which were given out at the state journalism convention on October 10, 2019.

In the Best of Show category, Echo received first place for its online edition, second place for its print edition and fifth place for its broadcast edition.

Echo also received Gold rankings from the Journalism Educators of Minnesota for both its print and online editions.

The following individuals won awards in the newspaper/newsmagazine categories:

Maggie Klaiers and Sam St. Clair | First Place | Center Spread Design
Izzy Kanne | First Place | Review
Sophie Livingston | First Place | Single Page Design
Dani Orloff and Noah Orloff | First Place | News Story
Echo Staff | Second Place | Website General Excellence
Grace Farley | Second Place | News Photo
Maggie Klaers | Third Place | Editorial Cartoon
Emily Ziessman | Third Place | Page One Design
Marta Hill, Maggie Klaers and Kate Schneider | Third Place | Feature Story
Dani Orloff and Noah Orloff | Fourth Place | Sports Story
Creston Halstead | Fourth Place | Single Page Design
Talia Lissauer | Fourth Place | Editorial/Opinion
Abby Intveld and Dani Orloff | Fifth Place | News Story
Ben Sanford and Sam St. Clair | Fifth Place | Center Spread Design