Skip To Main Content

School Board to Fill Two Seats by Appointment

On Thursday, February 10, School Board Chair Anne Casey accepted the resignation of Board Member Mary Tomback, effective February 23 (CLICK HERE to read the February 11 announcement).

Tomback's resignation leaves two open seats to fill on the board. With the appointment process for the seat vacated by Laura McClendon already underway, the Board has determined that it will select two of the current finalists to fill these vacancies. 

The finalists are:

  • Sarah Davis
  • Jim Leuthner
  • Virginia Mancini
  • Bruce McLean
  • Melissa Vogt

Finalist interviews will proceed as scheduled on Wednesday, March 2 and will be immediately followed by deliberation and selection by the Board. 

Pursuant to state law, the applicants chosen by the Board will be sworn in and seated 30 days following the Board resolution officially appointing the applicants. This 30-day waiting period is mandatory under the law, providing the public an opportunity to petition against the selection of an appointee. 

The two Board-appointed individuals will serve until a special election is held in November 2022 to determine who will serve the remainder of the terms. Ms. McClendon’s term expires December 31, 2023 and Ms. Tomback’s term expires December 31, 2025. The candidate filing period for the November 2022 special election will be communicated at a later date.